Invitation Links provide an opportunity to create or buy “vouchers” to send out to users in the form a link to the learning content.
Once the user clicks on that link, they become a member of a learning path, training event, or a course. This will ignore restrictions like price or prerequisites.
If there are no seats available, users will see a message about it.
For each link, they can see an ordered list of users, based on the time they've accessed the link provided to them.
Link managers can see all invitation links, not only the ones they've created. They can use the corresponding option to only view their own invitation links.
There's also a filter to show only invitation links, only vouchers, or both.
Creating an Invitation Link
A user with the role of a Link Manager will be able to create and manage such links.
- Click on the corresponding button.
- Choose a Learning Path, Course or Event to link to.
- Link name will be copied from the content title, or you can create a custom one.
- Set a number of invitations. That number will be reserved from the content’s seat limit if it’s set.
- Save it.
As an alternative workflow, you can have a "voucher manager", who can purchase invitation links to paid courses.
This feature must be enabled by admins first.
Once this is toggled, a new button to create vouchers will appear on paid items.
After clicking on this button, users will see the following dialog.
Add a title and select the number of vouchers you want to purchase.
Then, proceed to payment and pay for your purchase.
After the purchase has been completed, you can view your vouchers in the list, copy them, and send them to the users that you want to have the access to your item.
Invitation Links Preferences
There are two settings that can be found in Preferences.
The Default scope setting allows filtering the link list to only show links from the current course, instead of the whole environment.
The second setting toggles links to open only on the current course. Turn it on, if you have display issues with the redirect dialog for invitation links, which is shown before the actual link is opened.